Ordering a OTF from Blades HQ question

This is a forum for discussion on automatic an switchblade knives.

Moderator: The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
STLCARDS11

Ordering a OTF from Blades HQ question

Post by STLCARDS11 »

I am a non military or LE but it is legal to own a switchblade as a keepsake in my state. Can I order a Microtech OTF from BladesHq.com without any problems?
turbo_dog

Re: Ordering a OTF from Blades HQ question

Post by turbo_dog »

I am hesitant to discuss legal issues, but I just reviewed the forum rules, and the only restriction seems to be in discussing importing. I am no expert on state laws nor on shipment across state lines.

But, I have ordered many switchblades from many sources, including several from BladeHQ, and I have never been asked to prove any armed forces or law enforcement affiliation. Some sites do require a copy of credentials before selling or shipping, but I have never bought from any of them.

My understanding of the law is that to legally be shipped a knife, you must be a supply or procurement officer of a law enforcement or armed forces group, or a manufacturer, or dealer.

In the interest of privacy, I am not going to reveal whether or not I am in one of the above groups, but I would wager that at least some/most people who buy are not. And as I said, I've never been asked for any sort of proof.

I would never advocate breaking any law, but the odds are about 99 to 1 that anyone who ordered from one these places would never be caught if in fact they didn't legally qualify. If you aren't, and implying that you are by placing an order bothers you, you'll probably need to travel to a brick and mortar store to get one.

It's kind of a "Don't ask, don't tell" situation. As long as you are over 18 and don't live in Illinois, most places will sell to you, no questions asked.