Can someone explain the appeal of the Hackman?

This area is dedicated to balisong (also known as butterfly) knives, and to the fine art of using them.

Moderator: The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
JimBrown257

Can someone explain the appeal of the Hackman?

Post by JimBrown257 »

Hello,

This is my first time posting in the Balisong section; I'm mostly an auto-guy. I was wondering if anyone was a fan of The Hackman Butterfly knife or could, at least, explain why people seem to like them so much.

Is it just that they are hard to find now or is it that they have a history with the CIA? If it's true that the CIA issued them during the Vietnam War, they must be quality knives. Although, it seems weird that the CIA would use butterflies; there are many other types of knives that I'd imagine were more practical, especially if it's true that you can't flip them the same as typical butterflies. And why would they use a Finnish knife?

I've only seen them in pictures but they don't seem to be the most attractive Balisong. They kind of look like toys, like something you'd see in an article about comically dangerous toys people used to let kids play with.

I should mention, however, that I do really like the latch on the Hackman; I wish more Balisongs would use something like that to keep the handles together.

Does anyone have any thoughts?

Thanks,

-J
Attachments
Hackman Butterfly Knife
Hackman Butterfly Knife
Hackman Butterfly Knife.jpg (45.75 KiB) Viewed 35345 times
linos

Re: Can someone explain the appeal of the Hackman?

Post by linos »

don`t know if it`s true but i would guess the gave a Finish knife `cos they did not wanted to get traced back to the USA and it`s Allies?
TRYKER

Post by TRYKER »

it could be the scandi grind, and good carbon steel blade. can't beat a good scandi grind !!!
TRYKER