"Samsend" Swinguards

Post here pictures of your knives and blades! All images should be on an external web site, and linked to messages.

Moderators: tr4252, The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
chakotay

"Samsend" Swinguards

Post by chakotay »

It's been quite a while since posting. Mostly because traditional switchblades (my main interest) are almost non-existent here in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. However, I recently acquired these "Samsend" branded 10" swingaurds and wanted to post some picts. Don't know what eastern country they hail from and I'm not an expert, but IMHO they are actually BETTER quality than my comparable Italian stilettos . . . at least they look and feel that way. They're straight (no banana blades); they don't peek; they have no gaps in their liners; and unlike my other stilettos, they came razor-sharp out of the box. I accidentally sliced myself upon first handling them.

jerryk25

Re: "Samsend" Swinguards

Post by jerryk25 »

They look nice . . .
I think I may send for one. . . even tho' I'm not a swinguard fan.
Your close-up photos look nice . . . .
I always liked a black and white set. . . .

The last photo of a hand holding the black scale.
I detect a "swell belly" pregnant look to the blade grind.
and a definite Off-Center blade grind bevel. . . .
makes the very tip look off-center also.
Kind of annoys me.
All that effort to make a nice handle.
and it looks like the guy grinding the blade was drunk.
You'd think they would make a grinding jig to make the bevel and cutting edge consistent and straight.

It must be some sort of ethnic intrinsic value that appeals to the oriental eye.
(Like how I'm slovak and am fascinated by walnut wood and black steel.)
(I eat mushrooms and drink basement floor temperature Iron City beer also. . . .)