Setting up my shop

This forum is for general discussion regarding anything that cuts.

Moderator: The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
storebought

Setting up my shop

Post by storebought »

I earnestly intend to start making knives. I have little experience with machine tools, but am a quick study. Here is what I think I should really have in terms of tools:

1) belt grinder
2) table grinder
3) jigsaw
4) dremel

Here is what I would like

1) mill / lathe combo
2) verticle band saw

What else am I missing? Thanks for your input.
Never trust the weird looking little dog ~ or anyone else for that matter.
j.a.c.

Post by j.a.c. »

drill press (small multispeed)
buffer or attachment for drill.

I started with a coping saw , hammer and hand drill for the first few I did ,and added tools as I went.

I still don't have much ,but if time isn't an issue you can do most of it by hand.

I upgraded and added a drill press (under 100.)
several spindles and buffing wheels for the drill.
a small 4 inch tabletop disc sanded.
several sizes of drum sanders and spindles for drill.
15.00 yard sale scroll saw.

sand paper from 150 - 3500 grit.
small peening hammer (originally used a framing hammer :shock: not recommended)
that's about the extent of my tools , but I do it at my own leasure and as a hobby.

p.s. lots of bandaids :lol:
Dances with Emus

Post by Dances with Emus »

A few assorted files and jewellers files for those things that need them, such as file working the spine etc. I still do most of my knives using just the basics. Files, hacksaw, vice, sandpaper of assorted grades and elbow grease will make a beautiful knife. :D
'Such is Life'
Mick
storebought

Post by storebought »

Thanks guys; exactly the feedback I'm looking for. I have some tools already (including a $69 drill press and a great bench grinder.)

Flat grind? Hollow grind?