Difference between a standard and bayonet blade?

Read-only area containing the discussions related to the (now defunct) SKM Knives web site and its products.

Moderators: arthas, The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
rxyl81

Difference between a standard and bayonet blade?

Post by rxyl81 »

Hi,
I am a super newbie. I just ordered this knife for my boyfriend.

http://www.skm.to/pages/skm/pager/p/itst_5_37.html

I was going to order the standard one for $112 but that was too pricey so I changed it to the fourth one down, the one for 65.88, the polished bayonet blade. What's the difference in the blade? I am hoping it looks similar to the one in the photo at the top of the page? Any information is appreciated. Sorry if this is a stupid question. I know nothing about knives.

Thanks.
Chrisadamley

Re: Difference between a standard and bayonet blade?

Post by Chrisadamley »

yes, yours should look like the one on the top of the page. If you look at that knife, youll notice there is a swedge cut partways down the blade out to the tip. This portion is unsharpened. The picture shown there is considered a bayonet. And polished just means there will be a nice finish on it, like, should be able to see your reflection in the blade.

Hope that helps some. Your boyfriend should be very pleased.
natcherly
Connoisseur dei Coltelli

Post by natcherly »

The top blade you were looking at, the ATS34 Standard, is so expensive because of the much higher grade of blade steel (ATS34, which if your BF plans on actually using the knife would be a better choice). Otherwise, the other blade polished blade types are pretty much the same cost.

You might be better off looking at this site which is run by A Beltrame, the maker of the SKM stilettos. You can build the knife on the website itself and see how it will look: