Newbie Needs Help...

This is a forum for discussion on automatic an switchblade knives.

Moderator: The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
tommy_boy

Newbie Needs Help...

Post by tommy_boy »

I am new to autos, own a couple of them and was wondering how they should be stored. Should they be kept open or closed. I read somewhere that keeping them stored for long periods closed would weaken the spring. Is this true? Thanks, Tom.
Vagrant
Self Appointed Authority

Post by Vagrant »

I don't think it makes enough difference to worry about, however the vast majority of people prefer to store them open [or say they do].
The "emergency brake" on the original Otis Elevator [lift for any Brits] was
under constant tension for its entire service life with one exception.
If the cable broke the tension was released. As far as I know these always worked when there was a cable failure. There are probably other constant tension springs all around you that your saftey or at least your comfort depends on. Every time a car engine is off a large percentage of the valve springs are under compression, how often is this a problem?
Still it "feels right" to store them open and it certainly does no harm.
If you check the "help" section at AB/SKM their answer is "it doesn't matter. So do whichever you like. I think most people would say it was a bad spring if they stored it open and it failed, if they stored it closed and it failed they would say "should have stored it open". That's human nature.
I have had three spring failures out of hundreds of knifes, two of those failed WHILE closing [not while they were closed but in the act of closing].
The other failed on opening [pushed the button the blade opened and the spring departed]. Do whatever you're comfortable with, the statistics on those three failures prove nothing.
J-man
Supreme ruler of Bali-island!