Greetings to you all

This is a forum for discussion on automatic an switchblade knives.

Moderator: The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
tr4252
Special Agent Oy Oy Seven

Greetings to you all

Post by tr4252 »

I'm new at this; have owned 4 autos in my lifetime. 2 beat up hand-me-downs, a keychain 4 1/2" for which I recently had to make a new (kick?) spring, and most recently, a 9" stiletto purchased from a source I'm sure you all know quite well.

The 9" was of good quality for the money, but I was not satisfied, have taken it apart, and intend to rebuild the thing with some modifications. I'm
writing this now because a chance to get the feedback from so many knowledgeable people is too good an opportunity to pass up. I'll list what it is I intend to do, and if any of you have comments, suggestions, or insults it would be most welcome. By way of explanation, I run a tool & die shop, have many years in the trade, and have built several fixed blade knives, firearms, and misc. mechanical contraptions over the span of 20 plus years.

Oh, by the way, that's not me in the picture, just a pretty girl I associate the word "stiletto" with, for some reason.

Here's what I'm planning to do:
1. Make new (solid) bolsters to replace the stamped ones that came with the knife. I want them to be flush with the scales, which seem to be about as thin as they can be already. The way they fit drives me crazy, they should be flush (you guys who work on guns might relate to this), in my opinion.
2. Replace the .035" brass liners with .060" brass, to add a little stiffness, mass, and mainly, because of item 3 below.
3. I'll be replacing the rivets with SS fillister head screws, 1-72 size, because I like to be able to take things apart, for repairs, tuning up, etc. So I'll need to tap the liners and still have some hope of a reasonable thread depth.