LL80 gravity knife question

This is a forum for discussion on automatic an switchblade knives.

Moderator: The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
xfootdoc

LL80 gravity knife question

Post by xfootdoc »

HI I'm new to list and have a question. I have just purchased a new LL80 gravity knife and was told that there are other versions of this same knife. Would someone in the know explain the differences as well as the pros and cons of each? Any pictures would be helpful. Thanks.......Alan
JerrBear
MB Suckin' Bottom Feeder

Re: LL80 gravity knife question

Post by JerrBear »

Mr. xfootdoc,

Greetings and WELCOMENESS!

All I know is there are at least twice versions of the LL-80. One has OFW onna blade. The other has WMF. The latter locks up solid and is the best of the two, whilst the former has considerable blade wobble...

I don't have a camera or computer, so I can't post pictures... :sad:
JerrBear
Have you hugged a Bear today?
Bill DeShivs
Yes.

Post by Bill DeShivs »

The Eickhorn LL-80 is a smaller version of the knives JerrBear mentions. The LL80 was made with a gut-hook type blade marked "Colt." There are Asian-made versions also. To my knowledge the LL80 is NOT German issue. The larger versions were official German issue and they, in turn are modern versions of the original WW2 German gravity. There is another issue German gravity knife that was used from 1956-1962.
Bill DeShivs, Master Cutler
http://www.billdeshivs.com
Factory authorized repairs for:
Latama, Mauro Mario, LePre, Colonial, Kabar, Flylock, Schrade Cut Co., Presto, Press Button, Hubertus, Grafrath, Kuno Ritter knives, Puma, Burrell Cutlery.
Dr. Blades

Post by Dr. Blades »

Here are a few different versions of the LL80. The version that has 'WMF' marked on the blade is cited by many who own them as the best of the post WWII models.
Attachments