advice for a pin head..LOL

A growing number of collectors customize their automatic knives by changing scales, bolsters, blades, doing fileworks, ... Wether you're a guru or just a wannabe knife modder, this is the place to discuss it!

Moderators: Bill DeShivs, The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
Mr_Bolster

advice for a pin head..LOL

Post by Mr_Bolster »

I'm a jeweller by trade and I wouldn't mind having a go at doing something like ghostown does on those Buck 112's.......all the detail and making the scales isnt really much of a problem for me but I'm not too sure on how I go about (or how a knife maker would go about) removing those pins that seem to be (how can I say?) spread and domed at the ends.....to tell you the truth I wouldnt mind knowing how to put them back that way when I reinstall the scales......I'm used to working with metal so I'd just hammer them spread, then use a "cup" burr with a dentist drill.....but its really got me stumped (and I hate admitting this) on how they flange both ends of the pin without damaging the scales LOL :lol:

is it a special tool, or is it just a matter of being really careful and balancing the pin whilst tapping it with a small hammer?....I've studied it and I dont think thats how the factories do it coz it seems so neat.....plus I dont think a factory production line would bother doing it this way or they wouldnt be producing to efficiently.

and to be honest I sure woudn't like to start hammering around a turquoise scale that I just spent 3 or 4 days constructing.
as useless as rubber lips on a wood pecker
Bill DeShivs
Yes.

Post by Bill DeShivs »

Mr. Bolster
The factories use small brass brads with a preformed head. They are peened by machine from the backside.