Spyderco, Cold Steel, Benchmade

This forum is for general discussion regarding anything that cuts.

Moderator: The Motley Crew

Forum rules
There are a few things you should know before posting in these forums. If you are a new user, please click here and read carefully. Thanks a lot!
kct6

Spyderco, Cold Steel, Benchmade

Post by kct6 »

Which knife should I get? Spyderco, cold steel, benchmark. Im looking for a good 4" pocket knife plain blade. THANKS
Last edited by kct6 on Sun Dec 28, 2003 2:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Vagrant
Self Appointed Authority

Post by Vagrant »

Welcome [see PM]
Maybe someone has experience with all three.
My Cold Steel was a bit better than my Spyderco. The existance of both Benchmark and Benchmade can be confusing. I have no experience with Bencmark but the one [manual] Benchmade I've had was easily as good as the autos. And a step up from Spyderco and Cold Steel. [The price reflects this].
Pushbutton
King of Switchbladeland

Post by Pushbutton »

Benchmark were made some years ago and their big seller was the Rolex and Viper ( zytel I think)a few boots and one hunter. Good knives but I got a feeling your thinking of Benchmade. It really depends on your usage but CS and Spydie don't make auto's and BM doesn't have a wide variety. BM is best for straight Tactical,SpyderCo is best for different utility types and frankly I'm no fan of Lynn Thompson and CS.
PB
mrbigg
Location: you talkin to me? you talkin to me? you talkin to me?

Post by mrbigg »

welcome kct6!

like mr pushbutton was eluding to, you will have to first decide what your needs are before deciding between these three brands - personally i love my spyderco native - and my cold steel vaquero grande scares the bejeezus out of me! i don't yet own a benchmade, but i have NEVER heard anything bad about them. i guess it really depends on what you want the knife for!